Veikko's Blur Pagewww.vblurpage.com
 Home > News > 2009

January 13, 2009 - vblurpage.com:

Graham plays on Pete Doherty's new album

Graham Coxon and Pete Doherty
Graham Coxon and Pete Doherty jamming away with "You're So Great" (source: YouTube video).

It's been confirmed that Graham Coxon plays guitar on Pete Doherty's upcoming album, due out March 9.

The as-yet-untitled album was produced by Stephen Street and recorded in London's Olympic Studios last autumn. The tracklisting for the album is:

1. Arcadie
2. Last Of The English Roses
3. 1939 Returning
4. A Little Death Around The Eyes
5. Through The Looking Glass
6. Sweet By And By
7. Palace Of Bone
8. Sheepskin Tearaway
9. Broken Love Song
10. New Love Grows On Trees
11. Lady, Don't Fall Backwards

According to NME.com, all songs except "Broken Love Song" feature Graham on guitar. NME.com have heard the album in advance and describe it on their blog [link down] as follows:

What does the next installment in Pete’s musical career sound like? Like Gorillaz. And The Coral. And The La’s. And Blur. And Bob Dylan.

The album is the most diverse album Pete has made by a long stretch. The bulk of it sees an atmospheric mix of acoustic guitar (mainly played by Graham Coxon) and strings set a keynote of tenderness and mystery – far away from the frenetic ‘Shamble-ness of ‘Fuck Forever’, ‘Pipedown’, ‘Delivery' and the like.

There are two videos on YouTube about the recording sessions:
Graham and Pete singing "You're So Great" [link down] and some general studio footage [link down] featuring Graham, Pete and Stephen.

Print Printer-friendly version

Home | News | Band Info | Discography | Gigography | Pictures | Lyrics & Tabs | Articles | Forum | Links

Updates | About | Search | Contact

Copyright © 1998-2019 Veikko Hynninen