75%
The Flowers of Romance
25%

Total votes: 4

TripleJay97

Public Image Ltd

Post by TripleJay97 » 13 Mar 2015, 11:54

Anyone else into them?

I'm a newbie. Metal Box is a masterpiece it seems, my favourite tunes being Albatross and Poptones.
Last edited by TripleJay97 on 13 Mar 2015, 18:19, edited 1 time in total.

AdvertBreak

Re: Public Image Ltd

Post by AdvertBreak » 13 Mar 2015, 14:41

I got in to them in 2011 just because I loved Public Image (having only known that, Rise, and This is Not a Love Song), and after quick YouTubing for Metal Box I bought the 3CD for £17 (!) Then in 2012 I saw them live and it all fell into place, these were now one of my favourite bands.

Furthermore, they are probably my favourite band that both me and my best friend like (he generally a different taste in music), and in the later days of school we used to play their albums whilst doing our GCSE's for Art, which lead to some extreme reactions to the first album which was hilarious.

So yeah I love them.

TripleJay97

Post by TripleJay97 » 13 Mar 2015, 14:51

I heard the Metal Box stuff before I heard Public Image, so the punk-ness of it came as a surprise to me.

How would you rank their albums?

AdvertBreak

Post by AdvertBreak » 13 Mar 2015, 15:05

1. Metal Box
2. First Issue [Most tracks are less experimental than Metal Box's, but with the metallic guitar and Wobble trademarks. Then there's the bookend tracks which are listenable pisstakes [Fodderstompf is just so damn good]]
3. The Flowers of Romance [Perhaps their darkest album and very tribal [it's not bass orientated and is very percussion heavy] which almost makes it sound quite gothic or at least a tad like The Cure in this era without Simon Gallup, or JD's Closer without Hooky.]
Then there's the rest of them, most of them usually dismissed, and all of them almost always ignored
4. Album [The 'Lydon solo album' is actually pretty damn good]
5. That What is Not