Veikko's Blur Pagewww.vblurpage.com
 Home > Discography > Dave Rowntree > Radio Songs

Radio Songs

Released: 20 January 2023

All release dates

Highest UK Chart Position: did not chart in Top 100


CD Cat. No. COOKCD829
Ltd Vinyl COOKLP829
Ltd Mandarin Orange Vinyl unknown
Ltd Navy Blue Vinyl COOKLP829RT
Signed Vinyl Test Pressing unknown

Other Countries & Formats
Download/Stream (HD & standard)

Record label:

Cooking Vinyl


   01. Devil's Island
   02. Downtown
   03. London Bridge
   04. 1000 Miles
   05. HK
   06. Tape Measure
   07. Machines Like Me
   08. Black Sheep
   09. Volcano
   10. Who's Asking

 Navy Blue Vinyl was exclusive to Rough Trade, limited to 300 copies and numbered. It came with a signed "London Bridge" postcard.

* Signed Vinyl Test Pressing is exclusive to Dave's official webstore and limited to 50 copies. One copy was given away in a competition.

* A competition to win a signed drumhead is currently on Dave's webstore.

Additional releases:

* Singles:
 London Bridge
 Devil's Island
 Tape Measure

Liner notes *:

Written by Dave Rowntree with Anna Neale (track 8), Ben Lukas Boysen (track 9), Gary Go (track 3), Högni Egilsson (track 4), Julia Hügel (track 6), Leo Abrahams (track 5) and Magnus Hesse (tracks 1 & 2).

Performed by Dave Rowntree and Leo Abrahams. Strings by the Budapest Film Orchestra.

Produced by Leo Abrahams.

Mixed by Michael Patterson.

Artwork by Gail Myerscough.

* The liner notes have been
adapted from various sources, including Discogs. If you have the original liner notes (found on the sleeves of vinyl/CD), please contact me and I'll put them on this page.

  • The album is about Dave's lifelong passion for radio technology. "It sounds like you've got a radio tuned to some static and you spin the dial, and the song pops out of it. And then you spin the dial again, and the song dissolves back into the static," he says. Each song represents an important turning point in Dave's life: "The idea of Radio Songs is me spinning through the dial."
  • "HK" contains snippets from radio broadcasts Dave recorded in Hong Kong while making Blur's The Magic Whip.
  • The album details were leaked by Diverse Vinyls and Rough Trade a couple of weeks before the official album announcement.
  • Total running time: 37:30

Home | News | Band Info | Discography | Gigography | Pictures | Lyrics & Tabs | Articles | Forum | Links

Updates | About | Search | Contact

Copyright © 1998-2023 Veikko Hynninen